News > Research Highlights

Contribution of FORTH/ICE-HT to the groundbreaking discovery of Graphene - the perfect atomic lattice

Oct 08, 2010

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2010 was awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences jointly to Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov "for groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material graphene". More information, intended for the general public, on graphene and the relevant work of the Laureates can be found here.

Professor Costas Galiotis, Director of FORTH/ICE-HT and his associates from both the Institute (Dr. J. Parthenios) and the University of Patras (Assistant Professor K. Papagelis) collaborate closely with the group of the Laureates in Manchester and some results of their joined work are described in the following publications: