Board of Directors

The Board of Directors (BoD) of FORTH is composed of the Director of the Central Administration (Chair), the Directors of the six Research Institutes, a Representative (appointed) of the General Secretariat of Research and Technology (Ministry of Education, Research and Religious Affairs), a Representative of FORTH Researchers and a Representative of FORTH employees. The BoD is the highest level of administration in FORTH and makes the final decisions on all major administrative and financial issues of FORTH.

Nektarios Tavernarakis
Chairman, Board of Directors, FORTH
Professor, Medical School of the University of Crete
Tel.: +30 2810 391102, Fax: +30 2810 391101

Spiros Anastasiadis
Director, Institute of Electronic Structure Laser
Professor, Chemistry Department, University of Crete
Tel.: +30 2810 391466, Fax: +30 2810 391305

Iannis Talianidis
Director, Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
Research Director
Tel.: +30 2810 391162, Fax: +30 2810 391110

Dimitris Plexousakis
Director, Institute of Computer Science (ICS)
Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Crete
Tel.: +30 2811 391664 (ICS office),

Vasilis Burganos
Director, Institute of Chemical Engineering Sciences
Research Director, FORTH / ICE-HT
Tel.: +30 2610 965215, Fax: +30 2610 990987

Charalambos Makridakis
Director, Institute of Applied & Computational Mathematics
Tel.: +30 2810 391800, Fax: +30 2810 391801

Gelina Harlaftis
Director, Institute for Mediterranean Studies
Tel.: +30 28310 566278

  George Kakouros
Representative of the General Secretariat for Research and Technology
Tel.: +30 210 745815, +30 210 8231077

Nikos Papadopoulos
President of FORTH Researchers Association
Researcher, Institute for Mediterranean Studies
Tel.: +30 2810 28310 25146, 56627

Michael Ligerakis
Representative of FORTH Employees
Computer Architecture and VLSI Systems Laboratory
Institute of Computer Science (ICS)
Tel.: +30 2810 391456