Stelios ORPHANOUDAKIS Distinguished Undergraduate Scholarship

The Institute of Computer Science of the Foundation for Research & Technology-Hellas (FORTH) has established, since the academic year 2007-2008, distinguished undergraduate scholarships granted to the best undergraduate students of the Department of Computer Science in the University of Crete. These distinguished scholarships are granted in memory of Stelios Orphanoudakis, Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Crete, Director of the Institute of Computer Science (ICS/FORTH) for a decade (1994-2004) and Chairman of the Board of Directors of FORTH from 2004, until his death in March 2005.

The scholarships are granted to second-year, third-year and fourth-year students based on their last year's academic performance for one (1) academic year, with the possibility of being eligible again in the following academic years (up to his/her fourth year of studies). The scholarships for second-year and third-year students (based on their academic performance on the first and the two first years of study, respectively) are granted for the period of 1 October until 30 September of the following year. The scholarships for the fourth-year students (based on their academic performance) are granted for the period of 1 October until 30 June of the following year, i.e. until the month that the students are normally expected to graduate.

For further information click here [in Greek]