BoD Members

Board of Directors

BoD Members

The Board of Directors (BoD) consists of the Director of the Central Administration (Chair), the Directors of the Research Institutes, a Representative (appointed) of the General Secretariat of Research and Innovation, a Representative of FORTH Researchers and a Representative of FORTH employees. The BoD is the highest administrative body of FORTH.


Chairman image
Nektarios Tavernarakis
Chairman, Board of Directors, FORTH
Professor, Medical School of the University of Crete
telephone icon+30 2810 391102 email fax icon+30 2810 391101


Plexousakis image
Dimitris Plexousakis
Vice-Chairman, Board of Directors, FORTH
Director, Institute of Computer Science (ICS)
Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Crete
telephone icon+30 2810 391637 (ICS office) email fax icon+30 2810 391602

Vassilis Ntziachristos
Director, Institute of Electronic Structure Laser

telephone icon+30 2810 391304 email

Vontas image
John Vontas
Director, Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
Professor, Agricultural University of Athens
telephone icon+30 2810 391136 email fax icon+30 2810 391110

Makridakis image
Charalambos Makridakis
Director, Institute of Applied & Computational Mathematics
Professor, Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, University of Crete
telephone icon+30 2810 391800 email fax icon+30 2810 391801

Harlaftis image
Gelina Harlaftis
Director, Institute for Mediterranean Studies
Professor, Department of History and Archaeology, University of Crete

telephone icon email

Ioannides image
Theophilos Ioannides
Director, Institute of Chemical Engineering Sciences
telephone icon+30 2610 965264 email fax icon+30 2610 990987

Charmandaris image
Vasilis Charmandaris
Director, Institute of Astrophysics
Professor, Department of Physics,
University of Crete
telephone icon+30 2810 394216 email fax icon+30 2810 394301

kontos image
Nikolaos Kallithrakas-Kontos
Deputy Director, Institute of Geoenergy
Professor, School of Mineral Resources Engineering, Technical University of Crete
telephone icon+30 28210 037666 email

Savvas Christoforidis
Director, Biomedical Research Institute
Professor, Biological Chemistry, Faculty of Medicine, University of Ioannina
telephone icon+30 2811392166 email

Klapa image
Maria Klapa
Representative of FORTH Researchers
Principal Researcher, Institute of Chemical Engineering Sciences
telephone icon+30 2610 965249email icon

Hatzigiannakis image
Kostas Hatzigiannakis
Representative of FORTH Employees
Institute of Electronic Structure and Laser
telephone icon+30 2810 391120email