FORTH logo




1983, May

The Research Centre of Crete (RCC) begins its operation in Heraklion, Crete comprising three institutes:

in collaboration with the University of Crete.

1985, June

Two new Institutes are founded in Crete:

The Crete University Press (CUP) was also founded in Heraklion Crete, under an agreement between the Pancretan Association and the Research Centre of Crete (RCC)

1987, November

Two more Institutes join RCC to create a new Research Center, the Foundation for Research and Technology - Hellas (FORTH), which is administratively independent from Universities:

Τhe Skinakas Observatory is jointly founded in the framework of the Greek - German cooperation in Science and Technology by FORTH, the University of Crete and the Institute Max Planck of Extraterrestrial Physics of Germany.

1991, February

Creation of the PRAXI Network (HELP-FORWARD Hellenic Project for Wider Application of R&D), under the auspices of the Hellenic Federation of enterprises (SEV), the Federation of Industries of Northern Greece (FING) and the Foundation for Research and Technology - Hellas.

1993, December

The Science and Technology Park of Crete (STEP-C) is founded, in support of the diffusion of the technical knowledge (know-how) accumulated within the Academic Community and the Research Institutes.

2000, March

CPERI (based in Thessaloniki) is separated from FORTH, to form the nucleus of a new Research Center in Northern Greece.

2002, January

The Biomedical Research Institute (BRI), based in Ioannina is incorporated into FORTH.

2018, February

The Institute of Astrophysics (IA) was founded in Heraklion, Crete.

2019, January

The Institute of Petroleum Research (IPR) was founded in Chania, Crete