'Vassilis Xanthopoulos' International Award

Awards of FORTH

'Vassilis Xanthopoulos' International Award

"Vassilis Xanthopoulos" International Award for research on Gravitational Physics was given every three years (during the General Relativity and Cosmology Society Conference) by FORTH, starting in 1991, in memory of the late Professor Vassilis Xanthopoulos. The Department of Physics of the University of Crete (UoC) was actively involved in the scientific coordination of the "Vassilis Xanthopoulos" Award.

Candidates should be under 40 years old, outstanding young researchers in the aforementioned field. Candidates for the "Vasilis Xanthopoulos" Award were considered by nomination only. The nominations should be accompanied by the Curriculum Vitae of the candidate. There was no application form; only the letter of the nominee, in which the reasons of the nomination were stated.

The amount of the prize was about $10,000.

For more information click here

IMPORTANT NOTICE: The awarding of "Vassilis XANTHOPOULOS" International Award for Research on Gravitational Physics was discontinued in 2011, until further notice.