'Stephanos Pnevmatikos' International Award

Awards of FORTH

'Stephanos Pnevmatikos' International Award

"Stephanos Pnevmatikos" International Award for research in nonlinear phenomena in the fields of Nonlinear Physics, Mathematical Physics and Nonlinear Disordered Systems was given every two years by the Foundation for Research and Technology - Hellas (FORTH) in memory of the late Professor Stephanos Pnevmatikos, starting in 1992. The Department of Physics of the Univeristy of Crete (UoC) was actively involved in the scientific coordination of the "Stephanos Pnevmatikos" Award.

Candidates should be under 40 years old, outstanding young researchers in the fields mentioned above. Candidates for the "Stephanos Pnevmatikos" Award were considered by nomination only. The nominations were to be sent to the secretary of the local and international committees, accompanied by the Curriculum Vitae of the candidate. There was no application form; only the letter of the nominee, in which the reasons of the nomination were stated.

The amount of the prize was about $9,000.

The deadline was the 31st of May of every even year. The candidate should be under 40 years old on this day.

For more information click here

IMPORTANT NOTICE: The awarding of "Stephanos PNEVMATIKOS" International Award for Research in Nonlinear Phenomena was discontinued in 2011, until further notice.

"Alwyn SCOTT" Lectures

"Alwyn Scott" Lectures are held in the memory of the former President of the Selection Committee of the Award (1991-2007), Professor Alwyn Scott in the framework of "Stephanos PNEVMATIKOS" International Award for Research in Nonlinear Phenomena.