2020 FORTH Award for Excellence in Academic Teaching | News



2020 FORTH Award for Excellence in Academic Teaching

This year, the FORTH Award for Excellence in Academic Teaching "Vassilis XANTHOPOULOS - Stephanos PNEVMATIKOS" will be presented by H.E. the President of the Hellenic Republic, Ms. Katerina Sakellaropoulou to Mr. Eleftherios Zouros, Emeritus Professor, Dept. of Biology, University of Crete.

Due to the pandemic crisis, the date of the ceremony for the Award will be decided later on.

The year 2020 marks the 30th anniversary of the establishment of the Award, which is the only academic prize in Greece that rewards excellence in academic teaching.

The Foundation for Research and Technology - Hellas (FORTH) established this Award in the memory of Vassilis Xanthopoulos and Stephanos Pnevmatikos. They were both distinguished professors at the University of Crete, members of FORTH and internationally renowned scientists who were murdered in 1990, while teaching an advanced seminar.

The selection of the awardees is made by a committee of distinguished academic teachers from a wide range of scientific areas and the awardees upon their selection become automatically a committee member.

For further information:

Kalliroi Mavrantoni

FORTH/Central Administration

Heraklion, Crete, GR

Τel.: +302810391509