European Institute of Innovation and Technology summit in Brussels | News



European Institute of Innovation and Technology summit in Brussels

The European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) Summit in Brussels was held with great success on Tuesday, February 20, 2024.

The summit was opened by Prof. Nektarios Tavernarakis, Chair of the EIT Governing Board and Executive Committee and President of the Foundation for Research and Technology - Hellas (FORTH), and Mr. Margaritis Schinas, Vice-President of the European Commission.

Mr. Margaritis Schinas, European Commission Vice-President

For the 10th time this year, the EIT awarded prizes for top European innovations in climate, energy, digitalization, food, health, manufacturing, raw materials, and mobility, which were announced during the EIT Summit ceremony in Brussels. Twenty exceptional candidates from 15 European countries were nominated for the EIT Awards 2024, having competed in an online semi-final on February 14, 2024, from which nine finalists advanced to the public award ceremony.

Mr. Margaritis Schinas, European Commission Vice-President stated: ‘The EIT Awards celebrate the brightest entrepreneurs and innovators within the EIT's vibrant ecosystem. Their groundbreaking work contributes to finding solutions to our most pressing societal challenges. I would like to express my warmest congratulations to all winners and nominees. As we celebrate these achievements, let us recognise the pivotal role of the EIT in nurturing innovation in Europe in line with the EU’s policy priorities. It paves the way for a brighter future and creating more prosperous economies and more cohesive societies.’

Ms. Iliana Ivanova, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, said: ‘I warmly congratulate the winners of this year’s EIT Awards. Their determination and commitment to innovation have resulted in remarkable achievements. This kind of talent and creativity drives the change that we need to see in Europe. Through working together as EIT community, we make things happen across the continent: from student to entrepreneur, from lab to market, from idea to solution. I hope these winners inspire others to follow in their footsteps.’

Prof. Nektarios Tavernarakis, Chair of the EIT Governing Board, said: ‘The EIT Awards recognise the most promising entrepreneurs and innovators emerging from the EIT’s ecosystem, as well as give us a glimpse into the latest tech and innovation trends in Europe. I want to congratulate all of this year’s winners and nominees for their achievements in developing advanced solutions that will help us tackle the most difficult challenges society is facing, across our continent and beyond. The 2024 EIT Award winners are the best examples of what can be achieved by the exceptional innovation ecosystem that we have built since 2008 – and how it can bring innovation to the sectors that need it the most.’

Keynote Speaker Prof. Bertrand Piccard, Initiator, Pilot and Chairman of the Solar Impulse Foundation and Prof. Nektarios Tavernarakis Chair of the European Institute of Innovation & Technology (EIT) Governing Board & Executive Committee, and President of the Foundation for Research and Technology - Hellas (FORTH).

The 2024 EIT Summit has attracted close to 800 participants, bringing together the worlds of policy, education and innovation and the coveted 2024 EIT Awards. Speakers included European Commission Vice-President, Margaritis Schinas, explorer and environmentalist, Bertrand Piccard, Members of European Parliament (MEP), Marc Dechamps and representatives from industry, policy, research and academia. This year’s flagship event is putting the spotlight on new collaborations that will amplify the impact of the EIT ecosystem at a stage where its pan-European innovation ecosystem now commands an unprecedented capability to drive systemic change.

This includes the launch of the European Solar Academy to support European technologies in the photovoltaic sector, and SMEs focusing on training and retraining workers.

For further information visit the link: