News > Announcements


Nov 22, 2018

Dr. Spiros H. Anastasiadis, Professor of Polymer Science & Engineering at the Dept. of Chemistry of the University of Crete, was re-elected Director of the Institute of Electronic Structure and Laser (IESL) of FORTH on November 12, 2018 for a second term. The election was made by a seven-member Evaluation Committee appointed by the Ministry of Education, Research and Religious Affairs chaired by Professor Efthimios Kaxiras of Harvard University.  His official appointment is expected in the next few weeks.

Short Bio

Prof. Anastasiadis received a Diploma in Chemical Engineering for the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (1983) and a PhD in Chemical Engineering from Princeton University (1988). He has been a Visiting Scientist at the IBM Almaden Research Center in 1988-1989. Professor of Materials at the Department of Physics of the University of Crete (1993–2005) and a Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the Department of Chemical Engineering of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (2005–2008).  He is a Member of the Quality Assurance Committee (01/2009–now), and the Vice Chair of the Committee on Research Integrity and Ethics (07/2018–now) of the University of Crete whereas he has served as the Vice Chair of the Technical Council (02/2011–10/2016).

His research interests are in the areas of polymer surfaces/interfaces and thin films, block copolymers, polymer blends and homopolymer/copolymer blends, dynamics and diffusion in multi-constituent systems, organic/inorganic nanohybrid materials and responsive polymer systems. He was awarded the John H. Dillon Medal of the American Physical Society in 1998 and was elected Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2000 He has been an Editor of the Journal of Polymer Science: Part B: Polymer Physics 5/2006-7/2010, he served as a Consulting Editor for AIChE J. (8/2012-12/2016) and as a Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of Macromolecules (1/2015-12/2017).  He is the elected President of the European Polymer Federation (EPF) for the period 2018-2019 whereas he serves as President of the Hellenic Polymer Society (12/2012-now).  He has been elected a Mary Shepard B. Upson Visiting Professor at Cornell University for 2018-2019.